wildwomanswimming

One woman's wild swimming adventures in the west country

Wild Jacuzzi

Wild Jacuzzi

Wild Jacuzzi

Green Light, Amber Water

Green Light, Amber Water

The water’s soft and gorgeous, and that surreal, early summer-green light is tangible in the air around the pool above Horseshoe Falls. I dive in off the rocks, and the chill is warm enough to invigorate rather than shock. As I surface through amber in soft-focus it takes a few seconds for my ears to clear before the silence is replaced by the soothing sough of the falls. I swim upstream to warm up, then float down to the jacuzzi.

Honey Swims

Honey Swims

The pummelling and fizzing clears my mind and relaxes tired muscles after three long night shifts and four hours sleep. I’m wedged on a ledge that’s softly clad in moss like a hairy chest; every so often I slide off and sink like a stone, giving myself up to the river, while light sprays through bubbles and my skin tingles. I float again to the surface when the buoyancy returns below the falls, like drifting back to consciousness from a lovely dream.

Afterwards I play ball with Honey in the pool, and mess around with underwater shots of us both. Ecstasy.

Green Through Amber

Green Through Amber

Honey Leaves the Pool

Honey Leaves the Pool

Relaxation

Relaxation

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Wild Jacuzzi

  1. Alan White on said:

    I feel your magic. I’d love to go there. Last year we had 91 yo mother in law with us and I only got as far as Spitchwick. xx

  2. great pics. really atmospheric. keep on having fun!

  3. You must let me know next time you are coming up this way and Rocky and I can come and say hello to you and Honey. Love the shots of her swimming from underneath!

Leave a Reply

