wildwomanswimming

One woman's wild swimming adventures in the west country

Scarey Dip

Heavy rain, water pouring from the hills and beer-head foam. Cullever Steps is not swimmable so I slip in to the little pool at the bottom below Scarey Tor. I mean to push hard off the underwater rocks and cross the flood to the eddy on the far side, but the rock I stand on is like glass and I slide straight in and under the central cascade. I almost go over the edge, but somehow make it across. I’m laughing as I bob in the nippy water which is black as stewed tea. I return with more success and grab the top of a rock to pull myself out. Standing on sodden turf, rain needles my body through the cold afterglow. White mist winds along Belstone ridge.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

