wildwomanswimming

One woman's wild swimming adventures in the west country

Wizardry at Burgh Island

I’ve never swum Burgh Island in an easterly gale before, but I see from the cliffs that it’s doable. It’s the day after the OSS Dart 10k so we have about thirty swimmers from around the country excited at the prospect of an iconic Devon wild swim. We walk down past the sea tractor and into warm, pale turquoise sea.

The water’s miraculously clear and I can see the cheese grater rock that scrapes a piece from my thigh. I’m exhilarated by the wild energy of the storm and the towering cliffs and wonder whether we’ll get into Death Valley.  The entrance looks spookily calm; I watch for a bit before deciding it’s safe to enter.

My companion and I swim in, and are quickly joined by several others who’d been hovering to see whether we would survive. We swim through the outer reef towards the shelter of the cliffs.

Suddenly I’m in a cauldron of pointed wavelets about a foot high, spiralling like upside down tornados. Spray flies from their tops. There’s an invisible wizard somewhere, casting spells over the sea.

Every few yards the surface of the water transmogrifies: here are sharp waves that echo the shapes of the jagged rocks above; there tiny ruffles shiver across rounded swells; a splatter of rain pocks wavelets; white horses rear with manes of spindrift. It’s still somehow clear below the surface, and we dive down through waving weeds.

We play our way through the rocks to  where the sand bar is gradually revealed by the receding tide. The gale hits us full-force, flinging abrasive water as it rips through. There’s no big swell, just a wallop of wavelets that makes swimming hard. I’m battered from side to side to front to back and keep my head down. As we leave the water I freeze instantly; not from wizardry, but from the chill of the east wind.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Wizardry at Burgh Island

  1. Wow you have some great shots here! May I ask what camera you were using? I have taken many shots of Burgh Island and Bigbury on Sea but so far only from the safety of dry land!

    • Thanks James, I used a Pentax Optio WG-1 which has sadly sprung a leak recently. I’ve had it for 2 years and it’s been in some very wild and very cold water, and thrown around a lot so I think it did pretty well all round.
      I found it easy to use and a good size for shoving down a swimsuit.
      Currently looking at the GoPro Hero3…

    • Love your photos too James, I think you’re more of a professional than I am – point and shoot for me!

Leave a Reply

